Service Delivery Committee

Ms Helen Summers - Master of Optometry; Grad Cert. Ocular Therapeutics; FAICD; Fellow ACBO

Appointed to the Board in 2005, Ms. Summers has a private practice in Darwin, with visiting practices in remote areas of NT. She works with adults and children with reading and learning difficulties, Neuro-optometry, Indigenous Health, Glaucoma and Macular Management. She is a Director of Eyecare Plus - a group of 180 independent optometry practices, Chairman of the Australian Optometric Panel and mentor for Autism Mentors Group NT.

Professor Elizabeth Ann Farmer (Chairman) - BSC (Hons), MBBS, PhD, FRACGP, MAICD

Professor Elizabeth Ann Farmer is a registered medical practitioner and Honorary Professor at three Australian universities. An independent consultant in the health sector, she has particular interest in innovation and systems change; policy and governance; accreditation; quality assurance; strategy and program evaluation; health sciences education and rural regional and remote health care issues. Currently, Professor Farmer also serves the Australian Medical Council as a Technical Advisor Research and Development, Chair of the National Prevocational Standards Accreditation Committee and member of the Board of Examiners. A recipient of the Vice Chancellor's Award for Excellence and Innovation in Education at Flinders University, she also received the inaugural Heaslip Fellow Scholarship in Medical Education at Flinders.

Dr Saravana Kumar - BAppSc (Physio), Master of Physiotherapy, PhD (Philosophy)

Dr Kumar is the Research Leader and Senior Lecturer at the International Centre for Allied Health Evidence, School of Heath Sciences, and University of South Australia. He has postgraduate qualifications in manipulative and sports physiotherapy and his doctoral studies focused on quality in health care service delivery. He has extensive academic, research and clinical experience in allied health and has received numerous grants, citations and awards for his work in the area of evidence-based practice. He has particular expertise in quality and safety and collaborates nationally and internationally with numerous agencies on developing and implementing heath care policy and practices which are informed by evidence. He has published extensively and presented widely on these topics and is a registered physiotherapist with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency.

Ms Louise Davies - BSc (Hons) App Chemistry, Cert Ed: Secondary Science, P Cert: Inclusive Edu and Sp Needs Ed

Ms Davies is the Executive Manager – Service Development with Autism SA. She holds a Bachelor of Science with Honors in Applied Chemistry, Post Graduate Certificate in Secondary Science and Inclusive Education and Special Needs Education and is currently the Chair of Professional Practice Committee at Autism SA.

Finance Committee

Mr Matt Lang (Chairman) - MBA, B.Ec, GAICD

Appointed to the Board in 2010, Mr Lang is a Director and Chief Financial Officer of Cobham Aviation Services. Prior to this, he spent nine years in defence, aviation and aerospace industries. He has also worked as a chartered accountant with PricewaterhouseCoopers for 14 years, including seven spent in the United States.

John Oliver (B Commerce, Grad Dip Banking Management, GAICD)

John Oliver is the Chief Executive Officer of HomeStart Finance. He has extensive experience in retail banking at Bendigo, Adelaide and Commonwealth Banks. He brings to Guide Dogs SA/NT high level planning skills in developing strategy and executing tactics designed to achieve corporate objectives. He is a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia (FINSIA) and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).

Ian Jamieson BA (Acc), CA, SA Fin, MAICD

Finance and business strategy executive Ian Jamieson is a Director of Spurling Jamieson Corporate. As an experienced General Manager he has led teams to develop and grow business by improving customer focus. Ian has formerly served on the Council of Governors for Scotch College for more than 15 years and was Chair of its Finance Committee. With expertise in strategic and operational business planning, Ian brings his experience as a Chief Financial Officer with listed companies to the organisation. He has a Bachelor of Arts in Accountancy and a Graduate Diploma Financial Services. He is a Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and of the Financial Services Institute of Australia (FINSIA) and is also a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Governance Committee

Gerry Cawson - LLB (Hons), GAICD

Gerry is currently a Legal Director heading the Corporate team at Kain C+C Lawyers. With more than 20 years of business experience, Gerry is highly regarded for his commercial skills. In 2013 Gerry was named by Best Lawyers Australia as "Best Commercial Lawyer - Adelaide" and in 2010 and 2011 he was recommended by Doyles' Guide to the Australian Legal Profession as a 'pre-eminent 'lawyer in South Australia in the area of mergers and acquisitions. In addition to numerous Board and committee roles over the years, Gerry has advised Boards and senior executives of Fortune 500 and ASX 50 companies while working for "top tier" law firms in London, Hong Kong, Sydney and Adelaide. Gerry is experienced in technical and practical application of corporate governance principles for organisations in the commercial and not-for-profit spheres. Gerry joined the Board in December 2013.

Volunteer Committee

Evelyn O'Loughlin (Chair)

Evelyn is the CEO of Volunteering SA & NT since 2008, and has experience in senior and executive management roles both in SA and in Europe spanning 22 years.  She holds a Bachelor of Education degree and is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Bruce Ind - Deputy Chairman - B.Sc, B.Ed, Grad Dip T, Grad Dip Ins Comp., B.Ed Admin

Prior to his appointment to the Board in 2004, Bruce served on the Client Advisory Committee as Chair for four years. Bruce began his career as a secondary teacher in regional South Australia before moving into information services in the early 1990’s. He also serves on the Australian Blindness Forum and on a number of committees within the Uniting Church. He brings an interest in, and a commitment to Quality Assurance, as well as experience with technology and governance. Bruce is a client of Guide Dogs, having received Orientation and Mobility Training with cane and dog through the organisation.  Bruce joined the Board in 2004, and was appointed Deputy Chairman in 2013.

Michael McGregor - BA, Psychology Major, FAICD

Michael  [Board Member, Michael McGregor] is Director of McGregor Campbell Group. He is a registered Psychologist with extensive experience in the field of Organisational Psychology. For 11 years to 2010, he was State Manager SA & NT for Australia’s largest provider of EAP Counselling and Workplace Trauma Services. He is a Fellow of the AICD and a Member of AHRI and the Australian Psychological Society. He is also a qualified mediator and an Associate Member of the Institute of Arbitrators and Mediators Australia.  Michael joined the Board in 2013.

Ngareta Cronin

Ngareta is the Volunteer Co-ordinator for the Rural City of Murray Bridge.  She has extensive experience in Local Government Volunteer Management and is involved in the leadership, management and co-ordination of volunteers. 

Kaye Mohamet

Kaye is the Client Services Manager, Volunteering SA & NT Inc.  In her role, she has established, reviewed and maintained Volunteer Policy and Procedures, as well as been involved in the recruiting of volunteers.  Kaye maintains networks with local government and local volunteer program managers to improve knowledge, skills and understandings in best practices for volunteer management.